CG 2022: Cricket


T20 Cricket will be the format played at the 2022 Commonwealth Games.

– Each side will have 20 overs to bat
– Six balls are bowled each over
– 11 Players on each team
– If a team loses 10 wickets before the 20 overs have been bowled the innings is over

Cricket was introduced into the Commonwealth games for the first time in 1998 where a List A (50 over) men’s competition was played.

This is the first-time women’s cricket has featured in the commonwealth games.

The top eight teams in the world that come under the Commonwealth ambit will compete.

The favourites:
The current world rankings have Australia at number one and England at number two. In the most recent T20 World Cup the final was played between Australia and India with Australia winning by 85 runs to seal their fifth title.

Who won last time?
Being that this is the first women’s cricket tournament in the Commonwealth Games there has never been a previous winner. However, the most dominant team in women’s cricket is Australia with six Women’s World Cups and five Women’s T20 World Cups.

The most recent T20 squad that defeated the West Indies 5-0 in a five-match series was:
Heather Knight (Captain)
Tammy Beaumont
Katherine Brunt
Kate Cross
Freya Davies
Sophia Dunkley
Sophie Ecclestone
Katie George
Sarah Glenn
Amy Jones
Nat Sciver
Anya Shrubsole
Mady Villiers
Fran Wilson
Lauren Winfield
Danni Wyatt

WHERE and WHEN are the games?
The games will be played at Edgbaston Cricket Ground. The tournament will take place over eight days from July 29th to 6th August.


About Author

Leave A Reply