Birmingham Hall Green: everything you need to know

on June 9, 2017

The people of the UK yesterday voted for their parliamentary representatives for the next five years. In Birmingham, there are ten constituencies. Here is everything that you need to know about Birmingham Hall Green.

Current MP

Image result for roger godsiff

Roger Godsiff: Labour

2017 Candidates

Roger Godsiff: Labour

Reena Ranger: Conservative

Jerry Evans: Liberal Democrat

Patrick Cox: Green

2015 Result

Labour won the seat in 2015, with a total of 28,147 votes. Roger Godsiff won with a majority of 19,818, 59.8% of the vote. The Liberal Democrats were the big losers, picking up 11.6% fewer votes than the previous election. Labour’s majority increased dramatically from 2010 to 2015, a rise from 16,039 to 28,147. UKIP and the Respect party stood in 2015, but are not fielding a candidate this evening.

Total Parliamentary Electorate


Swing Required for 2015 second place party (Conservatives)


Given the high swing percentage required, it is almost unthinkable that Labour might lose this seat.


The constituency was founded in 1950, and initially, it was a Conservative safe seat. Labour’s Steve McCabe took the seat in 1997, and Labour have never looked back. Current MP Roger Godsiff won the seat in 2010. Godsiff and Labour are all but certain to hold, but it is well worth staying tuned to Birmingham Eastside for all the latest news and results from each of the Birmingham constituencies.

Deputy Editor at Birmingham Eastside.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: